RAWALPINDI: Pakistan army on Thursday welcomed the upcoming Twenty20 series against a World XI team comprising 14 players from seven countries.

“We welcome Cricket Team World XI to Pakistan,” DG ISPR Major General Asif Ghafoor said.

“Pakistanis are eagerly prepared to host them as a peace and sports loving nation,” he said.

His statement came shortly after Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Najam Sethi announced that 14 players from seven cricketing nations would be participating in a three-match Twenty20 series against Pakistan being played in Lahore this month.

The squad includes Hashim Amla, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Ben Cutting, Collingwood, Grant Elliott, Tamim Iqbal, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera and Imran Tahir will be also part of the touring side.

To a question, Najam Sethi said that the next target for PCB is to organize international matches in Karachi.